What you must believe if, .....

Discussion and debate not related to prophecy.

What you must believe if, .....

Postby Sonbeam on Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:24 am

I found a thoughtful commentary by Pastor Sam Storms on why he left premillennialism. His reasons for this are
worth examining IMO.

My departure from Premillennialism was gradual and came as a result of two discoveries as I studied Scripture. First, I devoted myself to a thorough examination of what the NT said would occur at the time of Christ’s second coming (or Parousia). What I found was a consistent witness concerning what would either end or begin as a result of our Lord’s return to the earth. Sin in the lives of God’s people, corruption of the natural creation, and the experience of physical death would terminate upon the appearance of Jesus Christ. Furthermore, the resurrection of the body, the final judgment, and the inauguration of the New Heavens and New Earth would ensue. But why is this a problem for Premillennialism? Good question.

https://www.thegospelcoalition.org/blog ... ennialist/

:blessyou:

sonbeam
Sonbeam

Re: What you must believe if, .....

Postby Mark F on Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:50 pm

I would ask, what do you do with Rev 20 on?

Why would He need to rule the nations with a rod of iron if the 1000 years really don't occur?
Mark

All Scripture from NKJV

Find a seven year covenant Jesus makes with anybody plainly stated in Scripture.
Mark F

Postby Jericho on Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:35 pm

Sin in the lives of God’s people, corruption of the natural creation, and the experience of physical death would terminate upon the appearance of Jesus Christ.

How would he reconcile that with 1 Corinthians 15:26, which states that death is the last enemy to be defeated? That would suggest a progression rather than happening all at the same time.
Formerly SwordOfGideon
Jericho

Postby Sonbeam on Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:00 pm

Jericho wrote: