Caring for Mom

Caring for Mom

Postby RaptureReady on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:12 pm

I have been caring from my elderly Mother for many years and have been able to continue working while leaving her home alone. However, her last hospital stay resulted in the case worker advising me Mom is no longer safe to be alone while I work. I can't afford in-home care while I work (they charge more per hour than I make). I need my income to pay bills. Mom has so many medical bills from previous hospitalizations and does not have the money to cover her needs. I am going to take a leave of absence, but I can't be without an income for very long. I have no other alternative at this time. There are no other family members who live near us to help. I have a Sister who lives out of the Country but does not help at all. Mom does not want to go into a nursing home. I need your prayers my Christian Sisters and Brothers.
Where God's finger points, there God's hand will make the way. When you put your hand in God's hand, you will never walk alone
RaptureReady

Re: Caring for Mom

Postby SueAnn on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:34 pm

Rapture Ready,

Please contact your local government, particularly the group with a name that contains the word, "Aging". Not only will they advise you on what government agencies are set up to help in this situation, they will point you to other groups that can help. You are NOT alone. Reach out for help, on behalf of your Mom, even if you are not comfortable asking for help for yourself. Also, your Mom is eligible for Food stamps and medical assistance. If she is over 65 years old, and her only income is Social Security, her share of paying medical bills should be $$$-ZERO-$$$.

Remember, regardless of how our welfare system has degenerated, it was initially started to help widows and their children, just as the bible dictates. Yours is a PERFECT example of a TRUE eligilibility for government assistance.