a year question

Discussion not limited to prophecy.

a year question

Postby mrgravyard49 on Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:48 am

I guess we are in year 5778? If so we have 222 years to go to 6000. So how can we think we are in end times? Very confused :dunno:
mrgravyard49

Re: a year question

Postby Jericho on Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:37 am

I believe the Jewish calender is missing quite a few years. Maybe someone with more knowledge can shed some light on it.
Last edited by Jericho on Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Formerly SwordOfGideon
Jericho

Postby ToledoDebbie on Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:11 am

I have no knowledge to add regarding the Jewish Calendar or its accuracy, however, Jesus did say this:
Matthew 24; vs. 21-22
21 For then shall be great tribulation, such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no, nor ever shall be.
22 And except those days should be shortened, there should no flesh be saved: but for the elect's sake those days shall be shortened.
ToledoDebbie

Postby Jay Ross on Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:49 am

For a good read on the Chronology of the Old Testament, then the free PDF download of
Chronology of the Old Testament: A Return to the Basics
By
FLOYD NOLEN JONES, Th.D., Ph.D.
15th Edition
Revised and Enlarged with Extended Appendix
(First Edition 1993)
KingsWord Press
P. O. Box 130220
The Woodlands,

From the following web page is well worth a read.
http://standardbearers.net/uploads/Chro ... hD_ThD.pdf

P. O. Box 130220
The Woodlands,

May be of interest

He did his PHD on the Chronology of the Old testament. However, it is my view that he is in error and that Ussher's brother in-law, T. Lydiat, is much closer to the actual reality of a chronology of the Old Testament.