A covenant with many

(heavily moderated)

A covenant with many

Postby aaron on Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:08 pm

On another thread, I was looking through Daniel 9, and wanted to get into this, but didn't want to try to steer the thread away from the topic so I started a new thread. I'm studying current events in relation to Bible prophecy, and those current events have me considering four options regarding the covenant with many in Dan. 9:

1. Antichrist is American who sets himself up in Jerusalem, seen as a leader, friend to Israel, confirms a covenant ... then breaks it.

2. Antichrist is European, from a revived Roman empire, does same as No. 1.

3. Antichrist is Islamic, risen to power through global conquest of Islam, forced Israel's hand to accept covenant .. breaks it.

4. Antichrist is Jewish, achieves power through covenants with surrounding nations, perhaps Israel survives a war with Islamic nations .. antichrist confirms a covenant ... then breaks it.

I think option #1 is the most far fetched, option 2 also far fetched as Europe is getting overrun by Muslim migrants and is weakening in the global sphere of influence. That makes option 3 the most logical to me at this point in time, Islam rising across many nations and prepared to take control of nations too weak to confront it, and option 4 would need some kind of intervention, perhaps a Psalm 83 type war or Ezekiel 38 war at the beginning of the seven 7 weeks instead of at the end.

Option 4 also intrigues me. This covenant with many is so often referred to as a seven year peace treaty ... but a covenant with many could be something vastly different than a peace deal ... meaning we need to be careful to study and be prepared for what lies ahead.